Ten avatars (dashavatara) of Vishnu

Ten avatars (dashavatara) of Vishnu are the most prominent: Vishnu is incarnated every 2000 years. Apart from the most prominent Incarnations there are believed to more.
1. Matsya, the fish that kills Damanaka to save the vedas and saves mankind.
2. Kurma, the turtle that helps the Devas and Asuras churn the ocean for the nectar of immortality.
3. Varaha, the boar that rescues the Earth and kills Hiranyaksha.
4. Narasimha, the half-lion half human, who defeats the demon Hiranyakashapu -nara(man), simha (lion).
5. Vamana, the dwarf that grows into a giant to save the world from King Bali.
6. Parashurama, “Rama of the battle axe”, a sage who appeared in the Treta Yuga. He killed Kartavirya Arjuna’s army and clan and then killed all the ksatriyas 21 times.
7. Rama, Sri Ramachandra, the prince and king of Ayodhya who killed Demon King Raavan.
8. Balarama, the eighth Avatar of Vishnu and associated with the Dwapara Yuga.
9. Krishna, the Ninth Avatar of Vishnu and associated with the Dwapara Yuga
10. Kalki, the tenth avatar of Vishnu and said to be the harbinger of the end of Kali Yuga.

God Vishnu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.